Blog
Jan 12 2025 Obsessive Creativety
Woke up early today. Had the cameras packed. Batteries charged and labeled. Lenses clean. SD cards loaded, and spares in place in case that was screwed up. And trust me it happens.
The AMCA swap at motorcyclopedia was on my calendar. A swap in itself is awesome but with access to the museum COME ON! The Hudson River Riders chapter knows how to put on an event.
Then I start moving something. Cleaning up this small thing. Make coffee. Make a post cause I ran out of coffee. Which then leads to “ oh shit I gotta start getting those galleries up for the cabs n coffee dudes as I said I would.” That leads to yes I also have stuff for WHADAFUNK sitting in front of me that I have been grilling my brain to come up with something really cool to post with it for them as a collab.
Look at the clock. Oh shit gotta move my ass and get going soon or I wont get the pile in shots at the swap. Then drink coffee. Sidetracked with my morning workout. Yes I workout now. A mix of dumbbells, chair yoga for seniors. Some of the DDP Yoga ( Diamond Dallas Page of WWE fame.) has a yoga for everyday guys so you don’t feel like a fag. Mix that with a book I purchased that is written by Charles Bronson, not the actor but the famous British prisoner. It’s called Solitary Fitness, written by a convict for you to workout with no weights and only what would be available if you were in a jail cell. And of all the stuff I dabble in it will fuckin kick your ass. It’s good. But you need the discipline to stay on it.
While all of this is going on I am not looking at the clock and the 2 hour drive I have to the swapmeet. And dont get me wrong I wanted to go. My buddies from Brooklyn and north Jerez would be there as well as the upstate crowd that I don’t get to see as much the last few years.
Also while having an ongoing chat with a close friend about some stuff on the horizon and some stuff I missed in Asbury Park last night. Which sux but it’s ok.
Sadly the rat race during the week has me fried. And behind on stuff needed around my apt and groceries and a shit ton of other small things that if not done will pile up on next weeks, and what was left from last week. Shoot me now…. lol
Anyway we got to chatting and he shared an upcoming project he has coming. And we spoke on something I shot already with him. And because Im my own critic. I never really liked a ton of the images I shot while I was there and the project was being built.
He agreed about being our worst enemy when you have a passion to create and want to get better and not settle. It was nice to have someone understand my frame of mind for once. He’s a solid dude and my idea to fix getting images out was simple. Load them to the computer and let his eyes, a second pair glance over everything shot and help pick out what he needs to get something going he wants to do.
At this point I came to the conclusion I was not going to the swap. Sorry to those I’ll miss there. With my luck my homey prewar comes out and I’ll curse myself later. But I need to wind down and I need to get some other things done that aren’t camera usage required.
So yes with all this going on and me being all over and not motivated im blogging. It’s my way of clearing some of my head, and getting organized if you will.
My buddy is gonna get out and check out the town for a spell and then cook a nice dinner with his family. Me I gotta go dismantle a friend’s manger then check mail for mom. Then I will grocery shop put groceries away. Lay out dinner.
Then there is a chilly stretch of beach and a San Cristobal with my name on it for my Sunday walk with headphones on. Thanks again Mike the Philbilly for the smokes. These are killer.
Then I’ll come home and make a list of galleries im going to up load and reach out to some folks for them to have access to some stuff I shot. Wedding style.
The conversation was just what the doctor ordered. It’s good knowing that when your a perfectionist for your own needs and creative output you’re not frickin insane or nuts or anti social. It’s just discipline and drive. When you veer from it you beat yourself up with the what if I did more. And when you do to much you question if your pushing to hard and burning out.
FACTS.
January 7, 2025
This morning proceeding from the Bolla Mart to my work program serving my time. I posted a silly reel on IG of “my coffee journey in the hood.”
This was purely a joke. This term blows my mind. This opinion started developing while getting my daily dose of youtube in yesterday.
A video pops up called the tour of my truck camper and buildout. I click it and I see a guy open a tailgate on a Ford truck and proceed to point and a milk crate table, a bed made from half a sheet of plywood and a camping stove. He says “ the build took a few weeks and some thought.” Followed by again the term “ please follow along in my truck camper journey as we make adventures together.”
Some use this term “journey” when refering to a build being done. Or a life experience.
In some cases ill let it ride. I mean it has been aplied countless times to some living sober. And day to day in that life there are real moments of struggle as well as accomishment.
Or like my good friend Christo shooting photos while going from NYC to yellowstone or another amazing park or place. ( ill leave a link to him in IG stories after the post to this.)
But its like me getting off my couch and walking to my toilet. Am I going to have a journey and invite folks along for it.
Call it my fecal journey; the trials of an empty roll of tp.
Come on folks. Get with your content and bring back meaningful shit. What is happening on such a great platform like youtube and even on IG. Folks will post anything and its content. Its amazing and ooo watch and like me.
GTF out of here with that bullshit.
Sorry for this rant. 2025 is going to be me getting back to being myself again. Im tired of all the shit every person and group out there creates and if you dont acknowledge them and show them love your a big nasty hatin’ machine.
Some people need to get the fuck over them selves.
Ok so after a bit of thought and wondering why I seem bitter and snappy torward certain things. My self reflection has led me to feel that when growing up in the 70s,80s,and 90s. When we were kids we saw every problem as huge. It was like this life changing circumstance. Then we would learn that shit we were dealing with in perspective to others in the world was trivial in some.
In other words id never trade my skeletons and other shit in my closet for someone elses. And we learned this at what I see as the right age.
Me personally will never use the term “ adulting” its almost a trigger word for me because its people my own age and at ages were you should be able to handle simple everyday shit. The term journey for some reason fell and will jeep falling into this groove for me.
I seem to have a problem accepting it from some around me when there are 30 to 35 year olds I interact with that act like 10 year old kids and expect to be coddled with simple everyday functions, within the workplace and people I pass on the street. And in some cases you see it in the scope of friendships as well.
This goes back to mental health. Am I a fucked up individual. Yes I am. But I have learned to function and be stable and happy 80% of the time. While also being a single dad. Working a shit job as a part of the middle class cogset that gets ridden.
My frustrations are just there. And im letting it be known from now on.
So please join me on my “journey” of putting the grit back into everyday life through expression in my work and in my attitude. Sorry but not sorry if I offend some. And bye to those that cant handle it. Maybe you need to stop pretending the old days were great though dress and hair style and live in the world your in today.
Fin.
Pissing in the wind.
Jan 5. 2025
So lately the online culture. The people and content has become a little stagnent. It gets a little repeatative between pages or events. Sometimes with the same photographers and vidiographers being in the forefront, styles just trickle down and everyone is doing the same thing.
Be it color tones. Black and white retro looks. Moving vehicles and people. It seems to jump around and before you know it everyone is doing the same shit.
I recently started playing with AI. Not on my photography. That has been present already since the first photo edit program came out. It is anything you didnt snap with the camera, anything you cant change by using darkroom skills to manipulate your exposures or dodge and burn enlarge ect. Hats off to those in the dark room your real.
If you scan you are using digital and that is that. Not debating the film debate again I know my shit. I dont need to debate.
The point of this one today I guess is do what makes ya happy. Also dont do what makes you happy. Dont fall into a trap of not being creative because you see others with images that some like more than your on the socials. Socials suck ass. They are a tool for the end product. And can be good for networking.
Its the point of a handshake that matters. I have tried to put a handshake to every bike or car I have ever taken a photo of. Its important to me. A cool chopper or classic pan is only as cool as getting to know who put thier touches on the bike.
I have been creative. And some of mine came from blatantly seeing another photographers photo and thinking holy shit. And wanting a shot like it.
In that moment turn your creativety cap on and start playing with your settings and create. I didnt get the exact result. And I love that more. It inspired me. My intention was a blatant goal of copying the exact composition. In doing so and playing around I found a similiar groove of my own I started having fun with.
The photo was one Dean Landry took outside Vincents Bar in Mass. And funny thing is I have had a few chats with him about it. To let him know im not ripping you off. “You inspire me.” is what is said. And thats what we should all be doing. Inspiring each other. Not becoming jealous over each other. Trying to be origanal while also trying to emulate something you see.
Every photog I have ever nerded out has given me something to walk away with and think on and put in the tool box that is my brain.
Every photo here today is a post directly from my drive of scans. No digital used aside from the scanning process and whatever the lab hit on it. Which now my lab does zero corrections at my request.
A bee buzzed by me lately. It was buzzing that some didnt care for my attitude, or my flow, or my approach. My lack of being able to pump out all the content I shoot. Or deliver the prints you all want but dont ever give the full info on sizes and orders and numbers. This is a very very small group.
Sadly yesterday I shredded a pile of prints. Customers didnt pay and left me hanging. Guess what. FUCK YOU.
Whats really sad is I had other people closer to me. Some that support so solid its insane. They wanted stuff and I was hunting down files and could not deliver. This is on me for lack of proper back up. It is about 90% rectified at this point.
I guess im rambling, there is no need to have weird vibes torward me. If you ever have a question ask it im human and always try to stay positive. Also there is no need to be weird if you dont want me shooting. Or showing up somewhere I see posted.
So this is out there.. if you have a beef with me call me. Don’t have my number and want it. Hit me on the dm somewhere. But dont talk shit behind my back. Its not cool. Grow up. Be happy in your own shoes. This person knows who they are. Dont be a fuckin PUSSY.
Thanks and sorry if this ramble is all over. Had to get it out. And have deceided not to backspace to be nice anymore. Im just being me.
So have a great weekend. Stay Krackin. And FT entire W. In a good way.
January 1. 2024
Feet on the floor at 7:05 a.m. on the train at 7:34. On the boat for 8:30. At Father Demo square. Nyc by 9:20.
Didnt wanna get out of bed let alone shoot. But its discipline. And 10 mins out im in the mood.
Note 1. I fucking despise riding this tin can on rails. Just 1 day id like quiet instead of all of the carts going to the free food bank up the block. But the other ones have dispersed. Prob still tweakin from last night.
To all I know here. Best wishes in 2025. I hope this place improves.
Now good vibes lets hope no missles go.off or crazy drones UFO’s are waiting for the news tomo. 😳
This was saved as a draft yesterday. Today we have an issue in Louisiana. An ex military vet, and Texan ran into a crowd with a pickup ( ford lightning. Ev) and sadly 15 dead and numerous hurt.
Then not confirmed as part of that a Tesla cyber truck is up in flames outside Trump’s hotel in Vegas…. Weird shit. Stay alert my friends.
Some Porsche Fun
Did a lil shootin for Arties 4 year anniversary on his own killin it with a shop full of various yearned 911’s.
A Pulsating Memory
So today with the rain a local car show slash toy drive was washed out. I will not lie I go to shoot. Shots of cars a bike or two, and shots snaps and portraits. I was able to salvage the day and get with a buddy in his garage and shoot his choppers. Play with his pups and bullshit all things bikes, people and life. Glad I ended up there today. It gave me a small glimpse into why a photographer like Pulsating Paula touched so many with her work. I am honored to know a few who did know her. I get to hear some of the stories shared, and see the memories they have of a good friend and how she enlightened their lives with her camera.
I’ll never in my time come close to that level but it definitely is fun getting out week after week and trying. So today I shot some choppers and I hope it commemorates 10 years in a good way.
Quick Shots from the Pumpkin Run
So every year I go I have a blast and for some reason I see an old ford in this particular color and the shots seem to come up next level because it’s so killer. So enjoy. Have a Happy Thanksgiving if you’re reading this today.
The Pickle Runner
Here’s a swamp of shots of this sweet ford I have had the pleasure of watching unfold from its purchase to its current state. Kurt, Bob and rooster created some awesome shit right here.
The Panty Dropper
So just a quick post of some shots on a bike I shot in Asbury this past week. I’m posting here as a photo blog simply to get a break from socials. Tired of hashtags and likes and who wants to collab posts. Nothing to anyone I do this with. Just felt like doin my own.
Survivor Pan
So earlier today I vented. It got deleted. Should have hit delete before it posted. Anyways little words here. This is a quick photo blog on the Eazy Company survivor panhead that was in Daytona last year.
You can follow the complete build on their YouTube channel.
Enjoy and Ty John for letting me get some snaps.
Dome refresher.
So the last few weeks have been out of control on government job. Lol. Fuckin cant stand it anymore. So even when I have zero desire to even want to touch a camera I have been forcing myself to do a walk or loop in downtown NYC. Cause why not it is or used to be the greatest city there is.
Below are a few shots from my last stroll.
Also wanna thank the crew at Lower EastSide Choppers for always workin hard and late so I know where i can find some chops to practice on.
Chopperific
So In Atlantic City I got to see a friend I made in that special dirt lot in Seaside 2 years ago. Joe builds some trick Triumphs. Here is a small gallery of some of his work- give him a follow on IG @chopperific.
This is just a drop of photos of Joes bikes. No particular order. Follow his IG to see a really cool rear engine powered Triumph trike he built and say hello.
Chopperific is Joe Offria IG @chopperific
The lab.
So I was home today running for the crapper. Even posted a reel with some good clean up advice. Check it on my IG @steve___666. Anyways was a good excuse to get some things done that I have fallen way way way behind on. In process I always tend to throw some sort of related vids on the Utoobs. In doing so a lot of the film channels I tend to follow have been posting videos about insane film prices. And below something that seems to be a new trend. Using those cheap ass digicams we all had in the 90s to get a retro “film look”.
At one point in my hobby I was shown great hospitality by a person and taught quite a bit. Sadly with making jokes on me then me back ( im a bigger asshole and always win the snaps contests.) that ran its course and moved on. But the entire film look in itself is like by many. Those that really can shoot film well, and some that even develop their own. Props. What you do is huge and not an easy task by no means.
Myself, I am mainly a digital shooter. Hybrid ill call it in that I run manual, manual focus always, and shutter priority modes. My ISO goes from auto to locked depending on time of day and were I lock my white balance, and what im shooting. Sometimes for a shoot with a deliverable end product in prints or images consistency in the shots is required. I use what ill thank the wizard that rides the zombie unicorn “ its a tool to achieve a job with something you apply yourself to.” Weather mechanical, or analog, or digital, or a mix. The end result is what is desired.
So if you decide to goto a 15 year old digital camera to get a look straight from the cam that has a distorted low key look that you can pass as film. Just buy a FUJI and pose it with your Lieca.
If you want to learn photography. Shoot what you want. But I highly suggest a roll of 35mm film manually shot with no light meter. It teaches you a discipline. It slows you down and makes you think.
So if film prices are on the rise Utoobers stop the bs in driving another style of camera through the roof and simply shoot the digital bodies your filming your videos on for your content. And mix it with film and get back to teaching about photography and making images. Not sales and apps to use to achieve a look.
Sorry for the rant but I needed to get that out. Sad when people niche things and create this nonsense between people instead of simply spreading knowledge and sharing stories through imagery.
Below are a few photos of the current Evel Eye headquarters and mind center.
Hahah just joking real ones below this was just an office I shot through a window on Pearl St after buying cigars.
Heres my very small and humble set up. Ipad provides storage, editing, research, entertainment, and many other resources needed to play photograph stuff. With my digital and analog machines. My Mad Zip approved spelling help. My dongle lolol, or adaptor which reads any sd and links to hard disk storage. And most importantly. My Tabernacle Goliath for breakfast.
In 2023 I may actually start doing some set up at flea market or swaps. I have piles of stuff sitting so you may see it. More if and when it happens.
UNRELATED BUT SLIPPING IT IN. I need an older style sporty tank year is irrelavant and so is paint. Will trade photo/prints for one if anyones holding. Must be usable on inide. Pet cock. Lolol not needed.
Print swap 2.0
So once again with one of the same photogs I got some killer prints. What was different about it this time was he sliped a surprise one in for me. Likewise I had done so for him as well. So we eached picked one of the others to swap. Then got a surprise one. And I can say Im lovin’ it. And it isn’t double arches. Keeping this one short just wanted to share so I could push the idea.
Photogs share your work with each other print swap for swap. Its fun. It opens some cool lines of conversation, and its an awesome way to share and support each other.
The top print is one I saw and for some reason it clicked. The Hurst shifter with old hot rod H pattern spoke to me. The second print above was the surprise here ya go. And I love it. Tims work is amazing and we have had some cool conversations about photography. Call me a nerd I dont care. Its fun to have something of interest to keep my mind off my daily wage slave job.
Thanks again Tim. Give him a follow on IG
@blacksqirrelphotography
7 frames with the Graflex 22
Recently I had the privelige of a tour of the Ida Concepts and Hot Rod shop. The hospitality show by Rob is undescribable if you actually know him you would agree.
Upon arrival I killed a roll of unexpired Porta 160 in my Graflex 22 on a car that I saw on the side of the shop. Not all composition was on point. As shooting with an inverted image is a pain in my you know what… but here they are they came out pretty good with one or two being a fav,s that im not posting here because im putting it to print and sending them to to the shop.
Thank you again guys.
Small note a Graflex 120 takes 12 shots. All came out great as far as focus, color and lighting. I am learning the film approach so all weren’t worthy of posting and the composition on these is not great in any way to me. Simply sharing what I got on film. These are all direct uploads of my scans. Enjoy dont enjoy. Noodle. Dont noodle. I dont care. 📸
Pickles.
So a week or so ago I shot some of Kurts rides, had a great conversation, and got some insanely cool ideas to maybe shoot more in depth and show case each of these bikes on thier own. But for now I figured Id share a few of the shots. Been avoiding the socials and posting there just because I want to take the time I am on them down a bit so more will be posted here in various forms.
Thanks again for the hospitality Kurt. Enjoy the photos. Everyone.
All images copywright Evel Eye Photog. and its subsidiaries. 2023 Only the owner has permissions to repost.
Troglo Trike
I first saw this in a pile of parts on Fred’s IG account. I had started following him after seeing and shooting his piece for the Motorcycle Art Extravaganza put on by 812.inc which is killer in itself and shows thins man’s skills.
He was saying he wanted to build it for the Night of the Troglodytes. It got built, the rain came, I saw it pass in Fred’s truck. Due to crazy weather and parking and pigs everywhere. It didn’t make that show.
Fast forward to a Sunday morning in my stomp of the Asbury Circuit and boom it’s sitting on the curb as I walk outside so I found Fred shook a hand and shot.
I’m posting a lot of pics here some aren’t the bangers but some are I wanted to showcase this man’s work and this build. Please enjoy and if you don’t already give him a follow on instagram @anvilcity. Now please enjoy his 1974 Ironhead Troglo Trike.
All images copyright Evel Eye Photography. 2022
Wet Knuckle
So a few months back. On a windy Friday morning I got the worst possible shit that could happen. The beach races were canceled. But on a chance I still walked to the Binns Hotel. To my dismay. It turned out to be the best time I would have in Wildwood to date. I got to put handshakes to so many people I have spoken to, and to those that support my work. But seeing the bike below and a Pan that I will feature later, made my day.
John and all the guys at Eazy Co. Are super talented, they build some great machines. And they are funny as fuck so check them out on thier youtube channel as well.
Click an image to see larger view. Swipe 4 next image.
All images copywrite Evel Eye Photography and it’s subsidiaries. 2022
Ez co survivor pan coming soon.